Introduction to Outreachy

Introduction to Outreachy

Introduction

Hello there

I’m Erio Crucecia from Uganda, and I’m an Outreachy intern in the December 2022 round working with the Oppia community which focuses on providing quality education to those who don’t have access to it. I hold a bachelor’s degree in Software Engineering. I’m currently a Front End Developer with plans of becoming a UX Researcher in the nearby future.

This internship is a great opportunity for me to expand my knowledge of User Research which will help me with my future career plans of becoming a UX Researcher. The skills that I will acquire during this internship will pave the way for me into the research field.

Core values

My core values are compassion, good humor and reliability.

I value compassion because it helps one understand other people at a deeper level. I always want to put myself in people’s shoes so this drives me to always come through for them with any support that I can get.

What is this world without some humor? In my opinion, it would be the most boring existence ever. I enjoy humor, I love making people laugh because this world without humor would be so meaningless and stale.

Reliability is not only important at work, but also in our daily life. If you’re reliable, everything will seem to fall in place. I love being actively involved in helping people achieve their goals.

Why did I apply for Outreachy?

I was honestly looking for a way to break into open source after my graduation so I did research about the different opportunities and found out about Outreachy. Although I didn’t make it on my first try in 2021, I was persistent and gave it a second shot so that’s how I ended up as an Outreachy intern with Oppia. So just in case, you don’t go through the first time, please don’t give up. Outreachy runs two rounds every year so you can always reapply.

I chose to contribute to Oppia because they resonate with my goals and vision in ensuring that children from all backgrounds have access to quality education, especially underprivileged children. I grew fond of the Oppia community so that’s why I reapplied and chose to contribute to Oppia for the second time.

Thank you for your time.